Home / Principal Officers / CHAIRMAN – Dr. Bayo Aderiye

CHAIRMAN – Dr. Bayo Aderiye

Dr. Bayo Aderiye is a quintessential Medical practitioner of robust experience and skills which has seen him through over four decades of practise in the private and public health sectors in Nigeria.

He was educated at the University of Lagos, Akoka where he studied Medicine and Surgery between 1971 and 1977. Upon graduation, he proceeded to the state specialist hospitals in Ado-Ekiti and Akure respectively where he had his internship. He was subsequently deployed to the old Imo State where he participated in the National Youth Service Corps programme.

Dr. Aderiye commenced his working career in 1979 when he joined Bolanle specialist group of Hospitals where he was a resident doctor until December, 1981.

In the year 1982, he established Omosola Hospital, which moved after 10 years into its own purpose-built premises at 5, Ige Street Iyana-Ipaja in Alimosho Local Government area of Lagos.

A thorough bred professional, Dr. Aderiye has served at various points and in several capacities in his medical career such as being a member of the Investigation panel of the Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria (MDCON); member, board of Management of the University of Abuja Teaching Hospital, Gwagalada and member board of Management of Federal Neuropsychiatric Hospital, Aro, Abeokuta among others.

He was twice elected the chairman of Lagos State Branch of the Nigerian Medical Association (NMA National) in 1997 &1998 respectively, He was elected secretary –General of the National body of NMA 2000.

In 2007, he was appointed a member of the Health sub-committee of Ekiti State Government transition programme before he eventually became the chairman, Ekiti State Hospital Management Board in 2010.

In 2015, he was appointed a member of the court of Governors of College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Idi-Araba.

On the 2nd of November, 2015, he was sworn in as Chairman of the Lagos State Health Service Commission along four others (Commissioners) as members, by His Excellency Governor Akinwunmi Ambode,the Governor of Lagos State.

He is a recipient of several awards and certificates of recognition of excellence which include admission into the Lagos NMA Roll of Honour (2013), Best Zonal Co-ordinator Price Winner for NMA (1997) and Fellowship of the Association of General and Private Medical Practitioners of Nigeria (FAGP) 2001, among others.