Home / Principal Officers / COMMISSIONER I – Dr. (Mrs.) Monsurat Oyekan

COMMISSIONER I – Dr. (Mrs.) Monsurat Oyekan

Dr. (Mrs.) Monsurat Oyekan is an astute Medical practitioner with thorough understanding of workings of the Health sector, especially in Lagos State Primary and Secondary Hospitals where she had a successful career before she retired in 2010.

She attended College of Medicine Cairo University, Egypt between 1972 and 1977 where she obtained her MBBS. In her quest for higher knowledge, she proceeded to College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Idi-Araba, where she graduated with her master’s in Public Health (MPH) at the end of the 1982/1983 academic session.

Upon joining the employment of Lagos State Local Government as a Medical Officer of Health in 1980, She worked in several Local Governments in Lagos where she superintended over the Primary health Care department in various Local Government, including Lagos Island local Government, Agege Local Government, Itire-Ikate Local Government, Ajeromi –Ifelodun Local Government, Somolu, Ikorodu, Eti-Osa and Badagry Local Government.

In 2004 she was transferred to Lagos State Ministry of Health, where she held various position, such as State Aids programme coordinator, Director Disease control, Director Medical Administration and Training, Director Occupational Health and Director Family Health and Nutrition.

Dr. (Mrs.) Oyekan also served as a member of many strategic committees on health in Lagos State such as Lagos State Committee on Expanded  programme on Immunization ,Lagos State Centre for Rural Development , Lagos Primary Health Care Board as well as Member and Head of Medical Team of Lagos State Muslims Pilgrimage to Saudi Arabia.

She has also attended several workshops and seminars in diverse areas such as Adolescent Pregnancy, Family Planning, Managerial Leadership Team building, Corporate planning and  Staff Motivation etc.

She was appointed Commissioner for the Lagos State Health Service Commission by His Excellency, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode the Governor of Lagos State on the 2nd of November 2015